Frequently Asked Questions

We’ve collected a list of our most commonly asked questions.  Have a new one for us? Well, just Ask the Cows!

Are Kemps Ice Cream products safe for those with deadly peanut and nut allergies?

We have an allergen control program in our ice cream plant. However, we do NOT have a dedicated line for nut containing products. We recommend that you consult with your doctor regarding the risk.

If additional information is required, please contact Kemps Consumer Relations toll free at 1-800-726-6455.

Which Kemps products are gluten-free?

Kemps products including milk, sour cream, cottage cheese and yogurt are gluten free. 

 Ice cream itself is gluten free but may contain inclusions which contain gluten.

Anyone looking for a gluten free product should avoid the following ice cream products:

  • ice cream sandwiches
  • ice cream cones 

Ice cream flavors which have the following inclusions contain gluten:

  • apple crisp
  • brownie batter
  • brownie pieces
  • cake pieces
  • candies (may have a flour component that contains gluten)
  • cheesecake
  • cookie dough
  • cookie pieces
  • graham cracker
  • pie pieces
  • spumoni (the color contains gluten)

Products containing gluten are manufactured in the same manufacturing facility as gluten free products.   

Kemp’s has always had strict Good Manufacturing Practices (GMPs) to avoid cross-contact of our gluten free products with gluten and we continue to strengthen these practices.

The GMPs include employee training, strict raw material control, production schedule management and sanitation practices that include performing thorough equipment wash-downs to eliminate cross-contact of ingredients.

The best winter dairy treat is:

Last Month's Poll Results

Two-thirds of you told us your favorite part about autumn is when trees paint a colorful landscape. You know we're pretty big fans of a colorful pasture as well!